A question from a reader: Hello Nat, I hope you can help me out as I have a question regarding a LR issue.

When I load LR, it brings up the ‘Select Catalog’ option where I can choose a catalog to work from in LR.  I have 3 catalogs listed…my primary catalog, my wifes primary catalog then I have my backup catalog showing in the list.  How do I remove my backup catalog from the list?  I am afraid that I am going to select the backup catalog do some work then when the scheduled backup runs at night it will wipe out any work I do as my backup is set to mirror primary catalog to
backup catalog.

Any help is much appreciated.  I wish LR would make it easier to remove a catalog from the ‘Select Catalog’ option.

My answer: Hi Chris – Thanks for your email; I am glad to help. I understand your concern about making sure not to accidentally open your backup catalog.

Unfortunately, I don’t know of a way to manually remove a catalog from the suggestion list. However, I do know catalogs that have not been opened using that menu for a long period of time will eventually come off the list on their own.

Here’s what I’d recommend:
Under Preferences > General > Default Catalog, specify your main working catalog to open every time Lightroom starts, and turn off the option for Lightroom to prompt you.

When you want to load your wife’s catalog, hold the Option/Alt key when launching Lightroom. You can then manually select her catalog. Alternatively, you could ALWAYS open your main catalog, and then use the File > Open Catalog command to switch to hers.

I realize this isn’t a perfect solution, but with a little care, it should at least minimize the risk of opening the wrong catalog.

And as I mentioned, based on my experience, at some point that backup catalog won’t show in the list any more. (Also, moving the location of your backup might prompt LR to take that one of the list…) Admittedly, LRs behavior in this area is a little mysterious.

Get Photography tips, techniques and
tutorials FREE to your inbox

We value your privacy and will never share your details with anyone.

Almost there... Check your inbox to confirm.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This